Publications on market and opinion research

gfs.bern analyses Switzerland’s views. With our ‘Worry Barometer’, voting analyses, opinion polls and many other methods. View our News section for more articles about recent surveys and assessments.

17.10.2019 | Publications

Educational Transition Barometer 2019

State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation

The Educational Transition Barometer investigates the situation of young people transitioning to upper secondary education and the situation of companies that provide apprenticeships. It is conducted in spring and summer. It provides a timely insight into any specific challenges faced by the Federal Government, the cantons and the economy.

Cockpit second wave (in German, Italian and French available)


10.10.2019 | Publications

Credit Suisse Europe Barometer 2019

Credit Suisse

As a collaboration between Credit Suisse and the Europa Forum Lucerne, a special publication focusing on Europe is being published for the third time. The aim of the Europe Barometer is to gain insights into Switzerland and its relationship to Europe from the perspective of voters.

The final report in German can be found here.


01.10.2019 | Publications

Planning study on the organ donation initiative ‘Organspende fördern – Leben retten’

swisstransplant

On behalf of swisstransplant, gfs.bern has analysed the formation of public opinion about the organ donation initiative. The majority of Swiss people is in favour of finding active solutions that increase the number of organ donors. While this gives the initiative an initial advantage, it does not by any means secure its outcome: the urgency of the issue is perceived to be relatively low, and voters attach enormous importance to self-determination.

Brief report and final report


11.09.2019 | Publications

Nutrition and Exercise Monitor 2019

Information group: soft drinks

In 2019, we carried out our ‘Nutrition and Exercise Monitor’ survey for the sixth year running. Its objective is to monitor voters’ attitudes towards health, nutrition and exercise over time. It focuses on society’s views about concerns relating to nutrition, upcoming political issues and the expectations placed on politicians and industry players.

Cockpit and final report


17.07.2019 | Publications

Post-referendum analysis: vote on the Energy Act in the canton of Bern

State Council of the Canton of Bern

On 10 February 2019, the voters of the canton of Bern rejected a reform of the Cantonal Energy Act by a very small margin of 50.6% against 49.4% in favour (voter turnout: 37.9%). The present post-referendum analysis aimed to determine who voted for or against the proposal and for what reasons. Voters were also asked what impact they believed the outcome would have.

Final report


19.06.2019 | Publications

Health Monitor 2019

interpharma

The Health Monitor is a reliable system for gaining insights into Swiss voters’ attitudes towards the country’s healthcare system. It is based on an annual survey, conducted among around 1,200 representatively selected voters since 1997.

Brief report


04.06.2019 | Publications

Post-referendum analysis: merger of Basel hospitals

Department of Healthcare of the Canton of Basel-Stadt

On 10 February 2019, the voters of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft voted on the proposed merger of the cantonal hospitals and the switch of their organisational structure to a public limited company. Voters in Basel-Stadt rejected the proposal with a majority of 56%.

Final report


28.05.2019 | Publications

Economic success factors 2019

Alliance Economie-Politique and economiesuisse

On behalf of Alliance Economie-Politique and economiesuisse, gfs.bern has carried out another survey on the topic of European policy among companies based in Switzerland. The aim of the study is to reveal the needs and beliefs of Swiss companies regarding the politics of the European Union. In 2019, we focused on the institutional framework agreement.

Brief report


27.05.2019 | Publications

Bank Monitor 2019

Swiss Bankers’ Association

gfs.bern conducted the ‘Bank Monitor’ survey, which has been conducted regularly since 2002, on behalf of the Swiss Bankers’ Association for the first time in 2019. On top of the public perception of Swiss banks and the formation of public opinion about Switzerland as a financial centre, the 2019 survey focused on pensions. Its results are based on a representative survey conducted among 1,000 voters from all over Switzerland.

Final report


21.05.2019 | Publications

Sexual harassment and sexual violence towards women in Switzerland

Amnesty International Switzerland

Sexual harassment and sexual violence towards women are widespread in Switzerland. That is the result of a survey we conducted among 4,000 women aged 16 and above in Switzerland. The perception of this issue as nationwide problem was clearly derived from the participants’ own experiences or those of people in their close social circle. Nearly half of all women aged 16 and above in Switzerland know other women who have been victims of sexual assault. More than one in five survey participants has personally experienced sexual assault.

Cockpit and final report


17.05.2019 | Publications

Pharmacy Monitor 2019

pharmaSuisse

The public is increasingly aware of the various services offered by pharmacies. Public interest is on the rise. Pharmacies are considered easily available, uncomplicated ports of call that offer expert advice. They are well-trusted by voters across Switzerland. Despite this positive attitude, fewer people consulted their local pharmacy for mild health conditions this year. This is partially due to the ever-growing online market and resulting changes in consumer behaviour.

The 2019 Pharmacy Monitor focuses on the public perception of the role played by pharmacies, the trust placed in them, the quality of services provided, and the services that are on offer. It also analyses the issues associated with pharmacies.


08.05.2019 | Publications

Preliminary analysis of the Swiss referendum on 19 May 2019

Swiss Broadcasting Corporation (SRG/SSR)

If the referendum held on 19 May 2019 had been conducted on 27 April 2019, both proposals would have passed: the new EU Firearms Directive with a clear majority, the tax and OASI proposal with a relatively clear majority. Voter turnout would have reached 45%.

Background report and brief report

Information about the proposals and campaign


07.05.2019 | Publications

Educational Transition Barometer 2019

State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation

The Educational Transition Barometer investigates the situation of young people transitioning to upper secondary education and the situation of companies that provide apprenticeships. It is conducted in spring and summer. It provides a timely insight into any specific challenges faced by the Federal Government, the cantons and the economy.

Cockpit and final report: first round


29.04.2019 | Publications

Survey on climate and environmental policy among FDP members

FDP.The Liberals

FDP.The Liberals hired the gfs.bern research institute to carry out a survey of its members. The study was conducted from 1 until 23 April 2019 in the form of an online questionnaire with a postal invitation letter. It queried the party members’ perception and assessment of individual environmental and climate protection measures and their efficacy, as well as their evaluation of specific strategies for a range of political issues.

Final report


25.04.2019 | Publications

TCS Travel Barometer 2019

Touring Club Schweiz

The population of Switzerland seems to agree on its favourite holiday destinations: the closer, the better. Valais and Grisons in particular have become increasingly attractive to domestic holidaymakers over the course of the past three years.

Other countries in Europe (France, Germany, Austria, Spain, Portugal) and overseas, i.e. the Americas (the USA, the Caribbean), Asia (Thailand) and Africa (South Africa), are rated as fairly attractive holiday destinations.

Swiss travellers are least interested in travelling to culturally Islamic regions, such as Egypt, the UAE and Turkey.

Cockpit and final report


26.03.2019 | Publications

Switzerland in 2019 – European issues

interpharma

The survey on Switzerland in 2019 explores Swiss voters’ opinions about bilateral treaties with the European Union. It was carried out for the sixth time.

Brief report


22.03.2019 | Publications

Accompanying research for FMH 2018

FMH

Since 2011, gfs.bern has conducted representative surveys among hospital physicians who specialise in acute somatic disorders, rehabilitation, psychiatric care and outpatient services on behalf of FMH. The purpose of the study is to systematically capture and analyse the working conditions of the medical profession in Switzerland.

Cockpit


07.03.2019 | Publications

Swiss eHealth Barometer 2019

Swiss eHealth Forum

The digital transformation is leaving its marks on the healthcare system. That is the result of repeated surveys of healthcare professionals and the Swiss population. The internet has become as popular a source of healthcare information as television, for instance. More and more people are willing to share and save digital information. Healthcare professionals are increasingly open towards the internet as an opportunity for the public, and more healthcare institutions are adopting eHealth strategies.

Cockpit survey among healthcare professionals
Cockpit survey among the populace


01.12.2018 | Publications

Credit Suisse 2018 ‘Worry Barometer’

Credit Suisse Schweiz

The Credit Suisse 2018 ‘Worry Barometer’ shows that the Swiss population views old-age pensions, healthcare and health insurance as the most urgent problems facing Switzerland this year. The annual study has captured and monitored the opinions of Swiss voters since 1976. It has been conducted by gfs.bern since 1995.

Cockpit and final report


06.11.2018 | Publications

Credit Suisse 2018 Progress Barometer

Credit Suisse Schweiz

The Credit Suisse Progress Barometer measures Switzerland’s capacity for progress in the fields of business, society and politics by means of a survey conducted among the population and opinion leaders.

Cockpit und final report


20.09.2018 | Publications

Credit Suisse 2018 Youth Barometer

Credit Suisse Schweiz

The Credit Suisse Youth Barometer provides insights into the lifestyle and opinions of young people in the United States, Brazil, Singapore and Switzerland. It asks people between the ages of 16 and 25 about their hopes, wishes for the future, worries and their social environment. The survey further captures what they consider fashionable and what outdated, how they communicate and how they stay up-to-date on current affairs. The Youth Barometer is designed as an annual survey, which makes it possible to incorporate time-based questions. The 2018 survey is the eighth round since 2010.

Cockpit und final report


06.07.2018 | Publications

Participative dialogue for Biel

City of Biel

In the context of a complete overhaul of the statute of Biel, the city council decided on 16 March 2017 to launch a project dubbed ‘Public dialogue on the complete overhaul of the city statute’ (‘Öffentlicher Dialog zur Totalrevision Stadtordnung’). It has developed 13 concrete reform proposals. gfs.bern was hired to present those proposals to the citizens of Biel in a suitable format and organise the participatory dialogue between the city and its populace.

Final report

Publications sur les études de marché et les études d’opinion

gfs.bern fournit des analyses qui prennent le pouls de la Suisse. Du Baromètre des préoccupations aux sondages d’opinion, en passant par les enquêtes VOTO. Vous trouverez ici un récapitulatif de nos dernières publications sur les études de marché et les études d’opinion. D’autres publications sur les enquêtes et évaluations actuelles figurent dans les Nouveautés.

10.10.2019 | Publications

Baromètre Européen du Credit Suisse 2019

Credit Suisse

Dans le cadre d’une collaboration entre le Credit Suisse et l’Europa Forum Lucerne, une publication spéciale consacrée à l’Europe sera publiée pour la troisième fois. L’objectif du Baromètre Europa est d’obtenir un aperçu de la Suisse et de ses relations avec l’Europe du point de vue des électeurs.

Le rapport final en allemand est disponible ici.


01.10.2019 | Publications

Etude de planification de l’initiative «Encourager le don d’organes – sauver des vies»

swisstransplant

gfs.bern a analysé la formation d’opinions autour de l’initiative pour le don d’organes, pour le compte de swisstransplant. Une majorité soutient la cause qui consiste à rechercher activement des solutions pour augmenter les dons d’organes en Suisse. L’initiative bénéficie donc d’un avantage de base, mais l’issue n’est absolument pas certaine pour autant, car le problème n’est pas perçu comme urgent et les électeurs accordent une grande importance à l’auto-détermination.

Court rapport et rapport final


11.09.2019 | Publications

Enquête sur l’alimentation et l’activité physique 2019

Groupe d’informations boissons rafraîchissantes

L’enquête sur l’alimentation et l’activité physique a eu lieu pour la sixième fois en 2019. Son objectif consiste à observer au cours du temps la position des électeurs face aux sujets tels que la santé, l’alimentation et l’activité physique. Elle se concentre sur la préservation des valeurs dans les questions d’alimentation, les problématiques politiques émergentes et les exigences posées à la politique et à l’économie.

Cockpit et rapport final


17.07.2019 | Publications

Post-analyse relative à la loi bernoise sur l’énergie

Conseil d’Etat du canton de Berne

Le 10 février 2019, les électeurs du canton de Berne ont rejeté la modification de la loi cantonale sur l’énergie par une faible majorité de 50,6% de «non» contre 49,4% de «oui» (participation de 37,9%). Cette post-analyse a principalement pour but d’examiner qui était pour ou contre la proposition et pour quelles raisons, mais aussi de déterminer ce que la décision de vote signifie pour l’avenir du point de vue des électeurs.

Rapport final


19.06.2019 | Publications

Enquête de santé 2019

interpharma

L’enquête de santé se veut un outil d’information fiable sur le rapport des électeurs suisses au secteur de la santé en Suisse. Elle se base sur un questionnaire réalisé chaque année depuis 1997 auprès d’environ 1200 électeurs et électrices sélectionnés de manière représentative.

Court rapport


04.06.2019 | Publications

Post-analyse de l’accord sur la fusion des hôpitaux de Bâle

Département de santé du canton de Bâle-Ville

Le 10 février 2019, les électeurs de Bâle-Ville et Bâle-Campagne ont voté sur un accord concernant la fusion des hôpitaux cantonaux et la modification de leur forme juridique, pour en faire une société anonyme. Ce projet a été refusé avec 56% de «non» dans le canton de Bâle.

Rapport final


28.05.2019 | Publications

Facteurs de réussite économique 2019

Alliance Economie-Politique et economiesuisse

Sur l’ordre de l’Alliance Economie-Politique et d’economiesuisse, gfs.bern a réalisé une nouvelle enquête au sujet de la politique européenne auprès des entreprises situées en Suisse. L’objectif de cette étude consiste à repérer et à donner de la visibilité aux attentes et aux évaluations des entreprises suisses par rapport à la politique européenne. En 2019, l’accord-cadre institutionnel était l’une des priorités.

Court rapport


27.05.2019 | Publications

Enquête sur les banques 2019

Association suisse des banquiers

En 2019, pour le compte de l’Association suisse des banquiers (ASB), gfs.bern a réalisé pour la première fois l’enquête sur les banques, en place depuis 2002. Outre la perception de l’image des banques suisses et la formation d’opinions autour de la place financière, le sujet de la prévoyance retraite est également au centre de cette enquête en 2019. Les résultats de cette année se basent sur un sondage représentatif mené auprès de 1000 électeurs de toute la Suisse.

Rapport final


21.05.2019 | Publications

Harcèlement sexuel et violences faites aux femmes en Suisse

Amnesty International Suisse

En Suisse, le harcèlement sexuel et les violences sexuelles faites aux femmes sont très répandues. C’est ce qu’a montré notre enquête réalisée auprès de 4000 femmes de 16 ans et plus en Suisse. Cette perception en tant que problème généralisé s’explique de toute évidence par des expériences personnelles ou des expériences de personnes proches. Près de la moitié des femmes de 16 ans et plus en Suisse déclare connaître d’autres femmes qui ont subi des actes sexuels non consentis. En outre, plus d’une femme sur cinq a elle-même vécu des relations sexuelles non désirées.

Cockpit et rapport final


17.05.2019 | Publications

Enquête sur les pharmacies 2019

pharmaSuisse

Les différentes offres et prestations fournies par les pharmacies gagnent en popularité au sein de la population. L’intérêt est en pleine augmentation. Les pharmacies sont vues comme des points d’accueil rapides et simples, qui disposent d’une compétence professionnelle et inspirent une grande confiance parmi la population. Cette année, toutefois, de moins en moins de personnes s’adressent aux pharmaciens en cas de légers troubles de santé. Ce phénomène est notamment dû à l’expansion permanente du marché en ligne et des modifications entraînées au niveau des modèles de comportement.

L’enquête sur les pharmacies 2019 donne la priorité à la perception du rôle des pharmacies et la confiance qu’elles inspirent, sur la qualité du service, leurs offres et prestations, ainsi que sur l’analyse des problématiques soulevées en lien avec les pharmacies.


08.05.2019 | Publications

Analyse préliminaire à la votation fédérale du 19 mai 2019

SRG SSR

Si la décision du scrutin fédéral du 19 mai 2019 avait été prise dès le 27 avril 2019, les deux propositions auraient été acceptées, la nouvelle directive européenne sur les armes avec une nette majorité, et la proposition de réforme fiscale et de l’AVS avec un avantage relativement net également. La participation aurait été de 45%.

Rapport de synthèse et court rapport

Informations sur les propositions et la campagne de votation


07.05.2019 | Publications

Baromètre des interfaces 2019

Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation

Le baromètre des points critiques examine la situation des jeunes au niveau de la première interface de l’enseignement secondaire II, ainsi que la situation des services de formation professionnelle au printemps et en été. Le baromètre indique rapidement s’il existe des défis spécifiques pour la Confédération, les cantons et l’économie.

Cockpit et rapport final vague 1


29.04.2019 | Publications

Sondage des membres du PLR sur la politique climatique et environnementale

PLR.Les Libéraux-Radicaux

Le PLR.Les Libéraux-Radicaux a mandaté l’institut de recherche gfs.bern pour mener une enquête auprès de ses membres. L’étude a été réalisée entre le 1er et le 23 avril 2019 sous la forme d’un sondage en ligne après l’envoi d’un courrier d’invitation. L’enquête s’est concentrée non seulement sur la perception des sujets et l’évaluation de l’efficacité des mesures individuelles de protection de l’environnement et du climat, mais aussi sur l’évaluation d’orientations concrètes dans des domaines politiques sélectionnés.

Rapport final


25.04.2019 | Publications

Baromètre des voyages TCS 2019

Touring Club Suisse

Si l’on demande à la population suisse ce qui compte dans le choix d’une destination de voyage, la réponse sera la suivante: les plus proches sont les meilleures. Le Valais et les Grisons, notamment, ont bénéficié d’une tendance croissante ininterrompue au cours des trois dernières années et être désignées comme étant des destinations de vacances de plus en plus attractives.

Les régions les plus appréciées sont en général le reste de l’Europe (France, Allemagne, Autriche, Espagne et Portugal), suivi par les destinations d’outre-mer (Etats-Unis, Caraïbes), l’Asie (Thaïlande) ou l’Afrique (Afrique du sud).

Les destinations situées dans des régions à majorité islamique (Egypte, Emirats arabes unis, Turquie) sont considérées comme les moins attractives.

Cockpit et rapport final


26.03.2019 | Publications

Place suisse 2019 – questions européennes

interpharma

L’enquête Place suisse révèle l’opinion des électeurs suisses autour des contrats bilatéraux conclus avec l’UE. C’était la sixième fois que cette étude était réalisée.

Court rapport


22.03.2019 | Publications

Recherche parallèle FMH 2018

FMH

Sur demande du FMH, gfs.bern mène depuis 2011 une enquête représentative auprès des médecins hospitaliers dans les domaines des soins somatiques aigus, de la réhabilitation, de la psychiatrie et des soins ambulatoires. L’objectif de cette étude consiste à dégager et à analyser systématiquement les conditions de base pour les activités médicales en Suisse.

Cockpit


07.03.2019 | Publications

Baromètre Swiss eHealth 2019

Forum Swiss eHealth

La numérisation laisse des traces dans le secteur de la santé. Voici ce que démontre l’enquête récurrente menée auprès de professionnels de la santé et d’habitant(e)s de la Suisse. Aujourd’hui, Internet est utilisé aussi souvent que la télévision, par exemple, comme source d’informations pour des questions de santé, et les gens sont de plus en plus disposés à partager et enregistrer eux-mêmes des informations par voie numérique. Du côté des professionnels de la santé également, Internet commence, lentement mais sûrement, à être considéré comme une chance pour les citoyen(ne)s, et de plus en plus d’établissements de santé mettent en place une stratégie de santé électronique.

Cockpit Enquête auprès des professionnels de la santé

Cockpit Enquête auprès de la population


01.12.2018 | Publications

Baromètre des préoccupations Credit Suisse 2018

Credit Suisse

Le Baromètre des préoccupations du Credit Suisse 2018 indique que cette année, la population considère que la prévoyance retraite ainsi que les sujets de la santé et des caisses d’assurance maladie constituent les problèmes principaux du pays. Réalisée chaque année, cette étude de collecte et d’observation des opinions des électeurs et électrices suisses existe depuis 1976 et relève de la responsabilité de gfs.bern depuis 1995.

Cockpit et rapport final


06.11.2018 | Publications

Baromètre des progrès Credit Suisse 2018

Credit Suisse

Le Baromètre des progrès du Credit Suisse mesure la capacité de la Suisse à progresser dans les domaines de l’économie, de la société et de la politique, à l’aide d’une enquête menée auprès de la population et des leaders d’opinions.

Cockpit et rapport final 


20.09.2018 | Publications

Baromètre de la jeunesse Credit Suisse 2018

Credit Suisse

Le Baromètre de la jeunesse du Credit Suisse donne un aperçu du mode de vie et des opinions de la jeunesse aux Etats-Unis, au Brésil, à Singapour et en Suisse. Les 16-25 ans sont interrogés sur leurs espoirs, leurs souhaits pour l’avenir, leurs préoccupations et leur environnement social. L’enquête retient également ce qu’ils considèrent être «d’actualité» et «obsolète» ainsi que leur manière de communiquer et de s’informer sur les événements du jour. Le Baromètre de la jeunesse est une enquête menée tous les ans qui permet de se prononcer sur l’époque actuelle. La vague 2018 de l’enquête est la huitième depuis 2010.

Cockpit et rapport final


06.07.2018 | Publications

Dialogue participatif Bienne

Ville de Bienne

Le 16 mars 2017, dans le cadre de la révision intégrale du Règlement de la ville, le Conseil municipal de Bienne a décidé de lancer le projet «Débat public sur la révision intégrale du Règlement de la ville», qui contenait 13 propositions concrètes de réformes. gfs.bern avait pour mission de présenter ces propositions sous une forme appropriée à l’évaluation des habitant(e)s de Bienne, accompagnant ainsi le dialogue participatif entre la population et la ville.

Rapport final